Board Members

The Mid-Maryland Workforce Development Board (WDB) is comprised of representatives and leaders from local area businesses in Carroll and Howard counties in conjunction with the areas’ partners. The WDB’s primary responsibility is to provide guidance, and oversight to the local workforce development system through the Howard County Office of Workforce Development and Carroll County Business and Employment Resource Center (BERC).

Wallace Brown, Chairman, Manufacturing Engineer
Cobham Mission Systems
Vice Chairman, Lisa Heflin, Director, Human Resources
Medisolv, Inc.
Andrew Larson, National Project Coordinator
International Union of Painters and Allied Trades
Job Corps Pre-Apprenticeship Program
Cammy Hipp, General Manager
Christine Walters, HR & Employment Law Consultant
FiveL Company
Denise Beaver, Deputy Director
Carroll County Department of Economic Development
Jeannette Kendall, President
Success in Style
Gary Griffin, Business Manager
IBEW LU # 24
John Kennedy, CEO
John Kennedy Consulting
Julie Givens, Labor Exchange Administrator
The Columbia Workforce Center
Karen Butler, Director
Howard County Department of Social Services
Karen Merkle, VP, Continuing Education & Training
Carroll Community College
Kimberly Bohnet, Director, Basic Skills & Special Populations Program
Howard Community College
Leonardo McClarty, President
Howard County Chamber of Commerce
Meagan Enrique, Director, Benefits, Comp, & HR Systems
LifeBridge Health
Sharon Plump, Rehabilitation Supervisor
Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS)
Suzanne Giangrasso, Administrator
Lorien, Mt. Airy
Vernon Thomspon, Executive Vice President, Business Development
Howard County Economic Development Authority (EDA)